All Collections
Settings - Warehouses
How to Add a New Asset Warehouse?
How to Add a New Asset Warehouse?

Learn How to Add, Set Up or Remove an Asset Warehouse in RemOnline

Amalia avatar
Written by Amalia
Updated over a week ago

Assets in RemOnline will help you maintain available products (repair materials, parts) separately from the property of your clients.

Important: Assets may have different names (Vehicle, Device, Appliance, Tool, Shoes, Garment) depending on the type of business you choose when creating your account.

Create just as many Asset Warehouses as you need to fit your logistics and unique workflow. Manage your business Assets, such as equipment and tools issued for personal use to your tech teams and specialists. Maintain service history and track physical assets of the clients.

All clients and employees have their own Asset Warehouses in the RemOnline system available by default. Similarly, companies are provided with a single global Asset Warehouse and multiple Asset Warehouses for each location served.

Common examples may include:

Case One: Initially, the Asset is found in the Client Warehouse. Following Work Order check-in, the Asset is transferred to the “Pending repair” internal Asset Warehouse. Once the job is assigned to a responsible specialist, the Asset will be transferred to the Employee Warehouse. Upon completion, the Asset goes to the “Ready for pick up” internal Asset Warehouse before being issued to the client. Once the Work Order is closed, the Asset is automatically brought back to the Client Warehouse.

Case Two: If the business involves contractors, every third-party specialist and company will have its own external Asset Warehouses found in the RemOnline system. When the Work Order is submitted, the Asset will be transferred to a corresponding external Asset Warehouse. Upon completion, return, and physical stocktake, the Asset goes back to the internal Asset Warehouse. Once the Work Order is closed, the Asset automatically returns to the Client Warehouse.

Case Three: Given that the company offers equipment and tools for rent (or temporary use), the Asset will be initially found in the internal Asset Warehouse. Following Work Order check-in, the Asset goes to the Client Warehouse to stay there until the rental (or temporary use) period comes to an end. Upon a receipt from the client, the Asset is automatically transferred back to the Internal Asset Warehouse.

Transfer Assets across multiple warehouses in a self-driven manner, based on different Work Order status and your own business logic. Learn more about automation in this article.

How To Add New Asset Warehouse

Step 1. Navigate to the “Settings > Inventory” page, then press “+ Asset warehouse”.

Step 2. Complete the following:

  • Make up a good Title for your new warehouse;

  • Select the Type of warehouse (Location warehouse can be used only with a specific location it belongs to, Company warehouse can be used with any location from your list of available locations);

Step 3. Specify the allowed actions for this warehouse.

Please note that this setting is available in Business and Enterprise plans. Learn more about setting up and using the allowed actions with warehouses in this article.

Step 4. Provide access to employees.

To do this, go to the Access tab. Here you will see a table with all active employees.

Allowed actions for employees in warehouses settings are available starting from the Business subscription plan. That is, you can allow employees to perform all operations specified in the “General” tab or set up personal access for each employee to the same warehouse. Read more about how to configure the settings in this article.

Step 5. Click “Save”.

How To Edit Warehouse

Step 1. Go to the “Settings > Warehouses” page, find the warehouse you need to update and double-click its title.

Step 2. Click the “Bins” tab. Here you can create new bin locations, modify existing, or remove unnecessary ones. To work properly, bin locations must be turned on (make sure the corresponding checkbox below is enabled).

Step 3. Click “Save”.

How To Remove Warehouse

Step 1. Go to the “Settings > Warehouses” page, find the warehouse you want to delete, double-click its title.

Step 2. Press delete and confirm your action.

Note: Only warehouses with zero balance (i.e. those having no assets) can be removed from the system. Don’t forget to transfer assets to other warehouses or make write-offs.

Deleted warehouses can be restored in the Activity Log report.

To do this, generate a report for the “Warehouse deleted” event. Find the deleted asset warehouse and click Restore.

Did this answer your question?